Saintly Acts

Saintly Acts

Look at that punim!
Look at that punim!

The kids requested cotton candy. I always invite our summer art camp instructors to poll our, “exhibiting artists” about what treat they would like served on the last day of camp / exhibition day. These ones by far and away requested cotton candy. I do aim to hop them up on sugar and then send the hyper little rascals home to their dismayed parents, but I draw a line with carnival treats. As an alternative, I endeavored to make them this exciting item to distract from the absence of cotton candy, but I realized that I was not the saint I thought I was and that I’d rather attend 7am mediation than pipe marshmallow. Instead, I bought some packages of organic oreos and then split them apart, filled them with ice cream and rolled them in sprinkles. Not a bad cotton candy alternative, in my book!

IMG_6281

Ingredients:
20 Tree of Life Organic Chocolate Sandwich Cookies
One Pint MSU Dairy Store Ice Cream
Tub o’ Sprinkles

Method:
Let your ice cream soften just a *wee* bit. It will melt on you quickly! Open up each cookie and use an ice cream scoop to put a couple of tablespoons of ice cream between the layers. Wash your hands, and smooth the ice cream out along the outside. A knife would probably work for this too. I recommend rolling each cookie in sprinkles as you go because the whole operation does start dripping. In fact, make the sandwiches in a few batches and pop them into the freezer pretty quickly. They will need a little time to become firm before serving.

One thought on “Saintly Acts

Leave a Reply

