I Found an Oven

Last weekend I loaded up my baby carrier with proofed bread dough, some german butter and honey and a dutch oven and biked it all over to a seed bomb workshop in a garden in Silverlake.

image1

The gardeners there built a barrel oven with clay from a vacant lot and on Thursday nights they build a fire and the smell of dinner lures the neighbors down with their cast iron pans.

IMG_0011

Man.

These garden kids know good food- lemme tell you. I’m sure the restaurants in Beverly Hills will make you something elaborately-plated and dripping in beurre blanc or whatever, but actually the Micheltorena Community Gardeners are blowing all that out of the water for free on Thursday nights.

Here’s the method:

Poke around the garden. Find some stuff that looks ready. Maybe gather an egg or two from the hens. Cook it in cast iron over the fire. BOOM.

Garden frittata by Amy Clarke, food styling by Charley Hurman-Wurmfeld.
Garden frittata by Amy Clarke, food styling by Charley Hurman-Wurmfeld.

It’s likely I’m a lifer around here. When I met The Oven I rescued all of my baking stuff from storage and piled it onto my new shelves along with the mountains of lilliputian serving doodads.

UAM2y
Care to stop by the garden and cook or dig or laze about or find out what a seed bomb is? Look here:

Micheltorena Community Garden on Facebook
Theodore Payne Foundation for Wild Flowers and Native Plants

Hungry to bake your own loaf of Josey Baker’s olive bread? Follow this recipe. It’s from a book you should own called The Josey Baker Bread Book. Here’s why you need a copy.

Fresh seed bomb, wee hand
Fresh seed bomb, wee hands
Working hard for their bread snack. Recipe courtesy of Josey B!
Working hard for their bread snack. Recipe courtesy of Josey B!
Radical bombers
Radical bombers
I think the apple-slicing task was reassigned after I made it through these two.
I think the apple-slicing task was reassigned after I made it through these two.
4 thoughts on “I Found an Oven

  1. Aw, yeah! This is my favorite kind of cooking. Around here, we do it in the house that we are heating with all the wood Justin begs off city tree trimmers. I can imagine that doing it with neighbors and friends makes it taste even better. What fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

